Adrian College honors faculty during Convocation

ADRIAN — Several Adrian College Faculty were honored on Wednesday, Sept. 5, during the 2018 Convocation in Herrick Chapel featuring guest speaker Von Washington Jr., the executive director of Community Relations for the Kalamazoo Promise.

Adrian College presented two faculty teaching awards, the Ross Newsom Award for Outstanding Teaching and the Exemplary Teaching Award, as well as the Faculty Creative Activity, Research and Scholarship Award.

The Ross Newsom Award for Outstanding Teaching was presented to Adrian College’s Dr. Linda Learman, director of the college writing center since 2012. Learman, noted as an accomplished scholar and highly-skilled teacher during the presentation, joined Adrian College in 2009.

The Exemplary Teaching Excellence Award was presented to Dr. Annissa Morgensen-Lindsay, from the Department of Theatre and Dance. Morgensen-Lindsay joined Adrian College 18 years ago, first as an adjunct professor and later as an associate professor of Theatre and Dance. She has directed 20 plays since arriving to Adrian College, and it was mentioned during the program that she has positively affected students in every major program at Adrian through her stage work and work in the classroom.

Dr. Philip Howe received the Faculty Creative Activity, Research and Scholarship Award, which recognizes scholarship, work and performances that offer significant contributions to a field. Recipients of the award are celebrated for their work and the ways in which it embodies the college’s mission and Ribbons of Excellence. Howe has been on Adrian College’s faculty for more than a dozen years. He has been a Fulbright-funded scholar and teacher three times, and this academic year is commencing on his fourth Fulbright-funded research experience. The work Howe was recognized for is a multi-author project titled “The Creation of the Conditions for Consociational Democracy and Its Development in Interwar Czechoslovakia.” 

Adrian College also recognized new and promoted faculty. Those promoted to the rank of associate professor with tenure included: Dr. Christie Boxer, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice; Dr. Constantin Dorin Dumitrascu, Department of Mathematics; Dr. Cedrick Heraux, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice; and Dr. Amy

Hillard, Department of Psychology. Promoted to the rank of full professor with tenure were: Dr. Antonis Coumoundouros, Department of Philosophy and Religion; Professor Nathan Goetting, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice; and Professor Garin Horner, Department of Art and Art

History. Also introduced were new faculty including Professor Carley Augustine (Art), Dr. David Goldberg (History), Dr. Charles Reid (Sports Management), Dr. Timothy Rotarius (ESAT), Dr. Anastasia Shabanskaya (Math), Dr. Jennifer Towns (Social Work) and Dr. Renuka Uthappa (Core).